Brampton Beast

Brampton Beast

Proud Affiliate of

Montreal Canadiens


Brampton Beast Staff Profiles: 25 Questions with Steve Traves

You’ve spoken with us on the phone. You have seen our smiling faces at the Powerade Centre. Now, it’s time to get to know us.


Starting Tuesday, August 15, the Brampton Beast will be posting Staff Profiles, giving you, the fans, a chance to learn a little bit more about those who work behind the scenes to help make the Brampton Beast a success.


Today, we’re asking 25 questions to Beast Director of Business Development, Steve Traves.


Q: What’s your name?

A: My name is Steve Traves. My middle name is Russell.


Q: What’s your role with the team? 

A: I am the Director of Business Development, which is a fancy way of saying sales, sponsorship and a little bit of everything.


Q: How long have you been with the team? In what roles?

A: That’s a good question. The timing is funny. It’s going to be my third anniversary with the team next week. I’m sure the office has a big thing planned for me but I started out slinging tickets for the team and making a lot of calls each day to our fans and our buyers. It’s progressed to working with schools and community groups to now, where I still do some of that but I also do more on the sponsorship and marketing side.


Q: Favourite Beast moment, on or off the ice?

A: That’s a really good question. I think for me, having been here for three years, for me it was the Montreal Canadiens affiliation. It was the first time we really blew up on social media and people really started to take notice. My phone was blowing up with my friends and family and people I hadn’t talked to in a long time.


Q: Favourite thing about your job?

A: I think for me, and it sounds simple, it’s just coming to the rink every day. I always felt that if I was fortunate to be able to go to work and do something I love every single day I’d be crazy not to do it. Every day is different. One day I’m rolling carpets for the kids to sing the anthems and the next I’m making calls or going to meetings.


Q: What did you do in school?

A: I went to Brock and I did the full four years.


Q: Favourite song or artist?

A: I’m not a huge music guy, which may surprise some people. People may not know this but I’m a huge Katy Perry fan. But right now, and Ken Vezina, our VP would hate to hear this, but the new Imagine Dragons song. I listen to more podcasts and different things.


Q: Most hated song/artist:


A: It’s really funny because I like Taylor Swift too, but that song of hers right now, I can’t remember the name of it, but as soon as I hear it, I turn my radio off. I almost turned my car off the first time I heard it. I’m normally a huge Taylor Swift fan.




Q: Favourite food?

A: I worked at a pizza shop, the Little Caesars in Orangeville, for six or seven years and I ate pizza every day, but even today, pizza is my favourite food.


Q: Least favourite food?

A: It’s topical because I was talking with my mom about this last night but it’s cabbage rolls, honestly. I like a lot of the stuff in cabbage rolls, the meat and the sauce, but in terms of the texture and everything, it’s right there at the bottom of my list.


Q: How old were you when you learned how to ride a bike?

A: The way my house was set up when I was a kid, we had the green electrical box on one side and a rose bush on the other. I used to ride my bike between there and after I had fallen into the bush around ten times, I had finally figured it out but I was probably five or six years old.


Q: How many oceans have you swam in and how many countries have you visited?

A: Oceans, I think just two. And countries, I think I’ve only been to Cuba and the States. I’m not well traveled but it’s definitely on the docket.


Q: What was your favorite TV show when you were a child?

A: I think this would be a popular answer with a lot of people from my generation at least but when I came home from school, I watched a lot of two shows: one is Pokemon, obviously. The other is Dragon Ball Z. that’s easily my number one show of all time.


Q: What did you dress up as on Halloween when you were eight?

A: For about four years straight from when I was like eight through twelve years old, I was a ninja. I don’t know why. Every single year I was a ninja. I don’t have any crazy costumes. I’ve never been a big Halloween guy.


Q: Have you ever taken karate lessons?

A: No. I went once for an intro class with my friend and it wasn’t my cup of tea. I played a lot of sports and did a lot of things but karate wasn’t one of them.


Q: What language, besides your native language, would you like to be fluent in, or are you already fluent in another language?

A: I’m definitely not fluent in another language. I guess probably French. Just to be able to go to Montreal easily. It’s the most practical answer for my purposes.


Q: Do you prefer Titanic or The Notebook?

A: I’ve never seen the Notebook. Crazy to say. I’m a huge fan of Rachel McAdams though. Having not seen it though, I have to go with Titanic.


Q: What’s the name of your favourite restaurant?

A: It’s definitely Oscar’s Roadhouse. I’m not just sucking up. It’s the best place in Brampton that I like to go to. Honestly right now, that’s at the top of my list in general, not just in Brampton.


Q: What would your parents have named you if you were the opposite gender?

A: I do not know. I’ll have to ask my parents when I see them later tonight. I don’t even know where the name Steve originated from. They just wanted a nice simple name. Maybe I would have been a Stephanie. I don’t know.


Q: Would you rather live in a rural area or in the suburbs?

A: I’m from a small town just up the road on Highway 10 in Orangeville and even though I like coming to the city and I love Brampton and Toronto but I think for m, I like the slow life. Especially on the weekends. I’ve always had a soft spot in my heart for Orangeville and places like that. 


Q: Can you whistle?

A: I can not. I’m not going to try. Not even close. It would be pretty embarrassing.


Q: Do you eat breakfast every morning?

A: I actually never eat breakfast and not on purpose. From the time I wake up and get to work is about 20 minutes. That includes my shower. I’m up and out fast. I love breakfast though. I love bacon and eggs and I go for breakfast a lot with my family but during the week, I never eat it. I don’t normally until 11 or 12 each day.


Q; How many pairs of shoes do you currently own?

A: I was pretty judgemental of Matt O’Reilly the first time I heard his number. But when I started doing the math in my head, I have about eight pairs of shoes. That doesn’t even include sandals. I have two pairs of dress shoes, running shoes which I don’t wear very often, I have my gym shoes, I have my baseball shoes, my basketball shoes and two pairs of spares. I think that’s eight? Plus my two pairs of flip flops.



Search Archive »

Browse by Year »